top of page

Language Deduction #1

Hey guys. I wanted to share with you a quick deduction I made the other day.

I was reading a thread on a forum, and I came across a post that appeared to be written by someone whose english was not perfect. There were a few grammatical mistakes and missing words, leading me to believe that english was not their native language.

One thing that stood out to me, though, was the fact that they capitalized nearly every noun in the post. This stood out to me, because I am currently learning the German language, in which every noun is capitalized. German is the only major language in the world in which you capitalize every noun.

For example, "The man is eating cheese" would become "Der Mann isst Käse." Notice the capitalized "M" and "K." My deduction was, therefore, that this person's native language was German, and they were accidentally capitalizing their nouns in english, too. So this means that the person might accidentally write "The Man is eating Cheese."

Just a useful tool to add to your deductionists toolbox.


MEET THE DEDUCTIONISTS

 

Find out more about the brains behind Enigma by clicking on the Meet the Team tab and reading their bios.

FOLLOW THE DEDUCTIONISTS:
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Twitter B&W
bottom of page